Heidi K Uuw

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Took my money

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Was told to give a credit card to hold a quote. Did not use the service.

They charged my card $500.00 and said they would only give me back half.

When I asked for their policy in writing, they said there isn't one and that they were keeping my money. SCAM!

View full review
Loss:
$500
Cons:
  • All

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: DO NOT USE THEM

Ryan G Cbl

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Phoenix, Arizona

Worst moving company.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Original review May 28, 2022

Update: A manager has contacted me and a container was found. I was also just told the pickup would be today as well so on the same original timeframe.

I verified with him there would not be any additional hidden charges and the full amount I payed is all I will pay. It seems they are making it right. I will update and re review once the full move is completed.

reserved a 16 foot container in march for a long distance move that was scheduled for today. I have to be out of my current apartment in 3 days which is why its scheduled for today.

I called and confirmed 10 days ago my pickup and drop off and make the just about 3500 dollar payment. I called this morning to get a estimate time. They tell me someone will call an hour before. I call again after 12 due to no call.

The rep then tells me I wont be receiving a call because there are no containers! When were they going to let me know! Ive already paid 3500 and bought things I would not have if I new they would not be able to be shipped. How can you wait until the day of my preplanned move to tell me you dont have the container.

And they didnt even call me, I had to call them twice today to find out!

Now I have to leave my items cause I cant sell them in 3 days and I cant afford another mover because I already paid pack rat and a refund takes longer than 3 days. I need this full amount refunded and to be compensated for items I would not have purchased had I known that pack rat would not be holding up there part of the deal.

View full review
Loss:
$5000
Cons:
  • Customer service or lack of
  • Refund policy
  • Those in charge

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Don’t use them, they are unprofessional and will not contact you when issues arise

Justina K Fhr

Dishonest Rip-Off and will break your stuff

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

We chose pack rats to move our stuff from California to Tennessee. We chose then because they claimed to be the cheapest and fastest option compared to quotes from Pods and other such moving companies.

They delivered them fairly promptly and we had to purchase brand new locks for them that were ours to put on and protect our stuff.

We loaded up our units and had them ready to go on pick up day and they came to get them and then said one of them was too heavy so we would have to get another unit or move stuff from one to another. We had 3 units and they said they had already loaded the lightest one on their truck so they won't leave that one and we would have to figure it out with the other 2. We of course had no way of knowing how much every box and everything weighs so we took pretty much everything out of both, got rid of any bigger heavier items like our fridge and freezer which was half of the reason we wanted to have our stuff moved, so we could like keep our stuff, and mixed them evenly between the 2. At this point, it was just a few days before escrow closed on our house since we obviously had them picked up right before we moved so we'd you know, have beds to sleep in as long as possible.

I had to spend hours, literally, on the phone to get them to pick them up again before escrow closed on my house. After they finally picked them up, they were supposed to take them straight to their Nashville location and I was to call them with an address as soon as we got to Tennessee to schedule them to be delivered. They said it would take 3-5 or so business days for them to be delivered after scheduled.

We got to TN and I called them with an address and they said that they hadn't even shipped the units to TN and it would take about 5 weeks before they could schedule for them to be shipped here and delivered. After spending about 5 literal hours on the phone on hold and being transferred around, I finally talked to someone who said they could have them delivered in 14 business days, so about 3 weeks.

We were in a completely empty house with nothing at all for 3 weeks with 4 children under the age of 5. We had to spend thousands of dollars buying things to get by when we already spent $12,000 for them to send our stuff.

Fast forward to the actual delivery, when they arrived, they gave us a new set of keys, saying in California for some unknown reason they had to cut off one of the locks and get into one of our supposedly private units and they couldn't tell us why they were in our stuff. Then, even though they claim they keep the units flat when loading and unloading, and we tightly tied everything down, they had shaked them up so much that most of the tie down straps were broken or came off and most of our stuff was broken. After spending over $12,000, a huge chunk of our stuff went in the trash.

Finally, the price we had originally agreed on was $9,000 for 3 units.

After all was said and done and they added extra fees and this and that, we ended up paying about $12,500 total for the privilege of having all of our broken stuff nearly a month after arriving at our destination.

We could have bought everything we own all over again for the cost and it would have been much less hassle and we wouldn'thave had to sleep on the floor for a month. I would definitely never recommend Pack Rats.

View full review
Loss:
$6000
Pros:
  • You have your own stuff

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

User's recommendation: Go with someone else or throw your stuff away and get new for cheaper

Resolved
Lorraine G Vqf

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Resolved: Unreliable Company

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Aug 14, 2021

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with apology. My issue with 1-800-Pack Rat has been resolved. They compensated me $50/day for 6 days the POD was delivered late..

Original review Jul 15, 2021

We contracted with this company, and are regretting it. They lie.

They said they would email a contract, but never emailed it. If you are a new customer, they answer immediately. If you are under contract, you CANNOT reach them.

You are on hold for hours, listening to their loud piano music, until you can't take it any longer and hang up. They confirmed pick-up and delivery of a POD and no-showed.

View full review
Loss:
$500
Cons:
  • Unreliable
  • Did not pick up pod or deliver one after they called to confirm
  • Charged my credit card for a pod i have not received

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: Do not contract with this company or you will regret it.

Courtney D Llr

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

MISSED DELIVERY

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

We have occurred multiple damages and losses because our pack rat did not arrive in the allotted time. We moved with two babies and had to buy new stuff, obvious reasons.

Due to our pack rat not arriving. Every customer service representative has lied to us. No one is able to locate our stuff.

We want reimbursement and refund. In fact the only way we were able to get any info was actually driving to the warehouse.

View full review
Loss:
$3000
Pros:
  • Truck driver was nice
Cons:
  • Keeping reservations
  • Are disrespectful and sarcastic
  • Those in charge

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE HIRE 1800 RATPACK

Kyrell Bwe

It is exactly a year and I’m still waiting for a full refund on my first container. As per a Brandon Smith.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

To much to write.But are a few reasons are. The second container I received look like it is in a war.

Openings all around bottom the black weather strip was not secure a big tripping hazard. It was trash.

Supposed to pick Up on 9-14-2020. No show someone cancel it never called

View full review

User's recommendation: Very nice when ordering. But it changes when a problem happens

Jerry K Gdo

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE THEY WILL NOT PICKUP PODS FROM MY HOUSE STAY AWAY

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

They will not pick up my empty pods I had scheduled a pickup on a their calendar. On the day of pickup I get a call saying they wont be picking up the boxes and both are still in my driveway.

I cannot get a return call back or speak to someone regarding a pickup. STSAY AWAY this happened on delivery as well.

View full review
Loss:
$500
Cons:
  • Customer service or lack of

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY TERRIBLE COMPANY

Cura J

Poor customer service and a rip off

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!! Pay the extra money for another company and save yourself the headache.

As I am writing this review I have been on hold for over an hour. They are trying to charge me an extrs $206.00 of which they did not speak of in the beginning. My troubles started last week when they rescheduled my pick up and pushed it back 5 days which means my delivery was pushed back 5 days. When they called to tell me the CSR told me that my final price at pickup would be $1675.00 and I would have a $0 balance.

Now after they pick up the container they want to charge me more. This company is not worth the headache.

Please do yourself and family a favor and go with PODS or UHaul. anybody but these people.

and I

View full review
Loss:
$206

Preferred solution: Price reduction

User's recommendation: DO NOT BOTHER WITH THIS COMPANY

Jennifer W Rgq

I had a great experience with Pack Rat

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Original review Mar 20, 2021

The employees were very professional and helpful. I had 5 units delivered and picked up and stored until a new home was ready.

Then the same units delivered to new home, in perfect order.

I cannot compliment the people with Pack Rat, Wilmington, NC enough. They were absolutely great to deal with.

View full review
Pros:
  • Great service

User's recommendation: If you are in the Wilmington, NC area, definitely use Pack Rat.

Brian F Pfr

Worst Company Ever

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

If youve ever seen the Seinfeld Reservation episode, that is what happens in dealing with 1-800-Pack-Rat. They do not understand the concept of a reservation.

I reserved a container for delivery on July 2 as I need to clear multiple areas of my house for a renovation project starting July 7th.

On July 2nd, the following happened: At 5PM, I called to learn the status of my delivery and was told they typically deliver into the evening and it will be arriving as scheduled.

At 8:30PM, I called again and selected an option for an agent to call me back when available. At 9PM, having received no call back, I called again and got through to an agent who informed me that the container would not be delivered that day as scheduled as I was on a list to which they could not deliver that day due to overbooking. Infuriated, I asked why I had not been contacted to inform me that my reservation would be delayed and asked when I should expect it to arrive the next day. He told me he agreed I should have been contacted and didnt know why I wasnt.

Then he proceeded to tell me that he didnt know if the delivery could be made July 3rd because he wasnt sure if deliveries were being made that day and it may not be delivered until July 6th! He said he would contact me as soon as he learned of a revised date it could be delivered.

On July 3rd, the following happened: Having never received any follow-up call to update me on the status of my order, at 7:34PM I called to get an update. I was again informed that it was uncertain when my container might be delivered. I then asked if that meant it may not even be delivered by July 6th?!

I was then assured it would definitely be delivered by July 6th. After speaking to a manager, the customer service rep told me I would be extended a $50 credit for the inconvenience and an email noting that would be forthcoming. At 7:42PM, I received my revised quote details of $180 monthly rent and transportation costs of $118.13, ironically still with a delivery date of July 2nd. But thats not even the best part...

My original quote was $169 monthly rent and estimated transportation costs of $110.79. Not only was I not provided a revision with a $50 credit, but the costs to my now LATE container delivery actually went up!!! Oh, and were not done. At 7:45PM, another email came with a revised delivery date of July 7th and transportation charges of $147.98...

so an even later delivery date and even higher cost. I called back again and asked why the date was scheduled even later. I was told thats the first available date and the customer service rep tried to tell some story about the drivers time allotment or some nonsense. Lets put aside the fact that date selection should not even factor as the company should be bending over backwards to fulfill a reservation ASAP for a delivery date that was already missed.

I told them that I could literally go online right at that moment and change my delivery date to July 6th. As I clicked the button to select July 6th, the customer service rep claimed that it was not an available date on her computer and argued that the 7th was first available. I then said I was literally staring at my confirmation revision for the 6th that I had just selected, to which she then noted she did see had changed. I then asked her if I could be guaranteed morning delivery for July 6th and have any fee waived.

(FYI: 1-800-Pack-Rat charges an extra $50 if you would like to have your container delivery confirmed for a morning or an afternoon delivery... at this point, Id like to trust that Id have a actual delivery at all!!!). She said she would speak to a manager and call me back to confirm a morning delivery and waived fee.

This company is a joke. 1 Star in this review is 5 too many!

The concept of a reservation means nothing to them. They put no urgency on actually providing their service for the customer. Their communication is atrocious given that they wont proactively provide any status updates to an order not meeting a reservation, and, even worse, they cannot provide accurate updates to an order past due. Their internal system isnt coordinated with online ordering.

And they seem to think that raising a quote price is a good idea after missing their reservation date and causing a customer nothing but hassle and headache.

Ive seen the company responses to other reviews asking for order numbers and phone number to investigate. Let me save you the trouble... my order number is 558**** and phone number was provided on the many number of the customer service calls that I noted above when I was told (falsely) that I would be notified via phone of a status update. The honest truth, however, is that nothing can actually be done to rectify this situation properly.

I needed the container July 2nd so that I could use July 3rd - 6th to pack it with my stuff in preparation for my home renovation starting July 7th. I can never get the time back that I missed.

No coordination. No accountability.

No service. NEVER USE THIS COMPANY.

View full review
Cons:
  • Keeping reservations
  • Customer service

Preferred solution: Deliver container, price reduction, & pay for movers to make up for the lost time they cost me by not delivering my storage container on reserves date.

User's recommendation: Never use 1-800-Pack-Rat

Anonymous
map-marker Peoria, Arizona

We were robbed by this company

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

They unlawfully sold our unite.

They kept making promises to get it back that turned out to be empty. We had to file for our stolen goods because they breached contract and we put so much money into the storage kept raising our rent.

I cannot prove my identity because it was sold off to some strangers to who ever bought it. My kids and I have zero clothes. They have no toys no beds and no dressers. We lost our business that was in that container as well.

Our autograph memorabilia was in there. Magazines from the 60s antiques. The ps4 drivers wheel along with all our electronics was in there. This company does not care about their customers or attempt to make anything right.

My family's photos were in there along with my kids school projects we held onto antique silverware from the 1800s was in their and kept safe in a army bag. All the kids books and my school books were in their . personal documents our entire life was in there now we have absolutely nothing including identification.

Thanks pack rat for screwing your own customers over and still do nothing about it! This was your error not ours.

View full review

User's recommendation: Do not go to 1800 pack rat you will get robbed

Anonymous
map-marker Phoenix, Arizona

My experience with Pack Rat’s extremely bad customer service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

My experience with Pack Rat’s extremely bad customer service

We are planning a cross country move and wanted to use a 1-800-Pack-Rat container for moving some of the boxes and possessions conveniently. It was anything but convenient and turned into a nightmare fiasco.

I reached out for a quote from Pack Rat on June 24th, two weeks before our move.

I got an online quote offering rates for the move from Tucson, AZ to Indiana. I finalized the details on the phone with a sales representative on June 29th and gave them a credit card for the charges. Delivery of the container was set for Friday the 3rd of July and then to be shipped to Indiana.

On Friday the 3rd, we waited all day and the container did not arrive. At 5pm, I called Pack Rat customer service and was told it could be delivered as late as 11 pm.

I waited up til 11 pm and it never showed.

Saturday morning the 4th of July, I called Pack Rat customer service and was given no explanation, but was told they would reschedule it for Monday morning the 6th at no extra fee. I was given no explanation as to why it had not shown. At this point, I had lost three of the six days I had planned to use for loading the container (evenings after work).

Come Monday morning July the 6th, no sign of the Pack Rat container delivery. It was promised by noon that day.

At noon, I called and was told it should be on its way and they would check and get back to me. I never heard from that Pack Rat employee again.

At 1:30 on the 6th, no sign of the Pack Rat container. It was promised by noon. I called again and was told it should be on its way and they would check and get back to me.

Again, I never heard from that representative.

At 3:00 pm, still no sign of the Pack Rat container. Third call of the day, I was told – again - it should be on its way and they would check and get back to me. Again, I never heard from that representative again!

Finally, at 5 pm, after waiting all day, I called again. This time I was told that the Phoenix 1-800-Pack-Rat franchise dealer had curtailed his service to Tucson and the representative was told to quit calling him.

No further explanation, but a weak apology from the corporate representative.

At this point, I have wasted four days with no clear answers and I am four days from the date I planned to move and left with no container and no time to find a replacement. I need to re-think my plans and find another alternative, but I have only three days before we leave and there is no time to pack. At this point,I have been left high and dry by Pack Rat. Why could no one tell me earlier that the service was not available?

Were they going to continue to be unresponsive until my Friday deadline!?!?

This is extremely poor customer service. Five times I was informed that the container was on the way with no further follow up. On the sixth contact, I was told that the service Pack Rat had booked just a week before was no longer available. Why did the Pack Rat system offer me a quote for service and why did the Pack Rat staff confirm this reservation for a service that was not available?

And then ask for my credit card information to secure a non-existent service!? The customer service representative with whom I finally spoke quoted an email from the Phoenix franchise dealer to several of the other customer service reps saying he had told them repeatedly that he was no longer servicing Tucson. Why was the order placed in the first place if this was true?

Now I have days to find an alternative plan for a move!!!!! Great Customer Service!!!!

View full review

Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution

User's recommendation: Do Not Use!!!!!!!

Resolved
Heather P Ivx

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Denver, Colorado

Resolved: Packrat never showed up and cost me thousands of dollars

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Feb 07, 2021

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with partial refund. Pack Rat after two letters, refunded me the additional costs incurred from them missing my appointment!.

Original review Aug 12, 2020

Packrat never showed up with my pod. They never called me back to resolve, and has over 2 hour hold times.

View full review
Loss:
$1050

Preferred solution: Price reduction to account for movers, elevator rental, and parking, refund for unused services, and a solution.

User's recommendation: DO NOT USE!!

Anonymous
map-marker Hampstead, North Carolina

Useless guaranty

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Supposed to be delivered 8-11-2020 just informed it wouldnt even be to the facility until tomorrow. Then they gave me a line of what I think is *** that there truck was I.

The shop and depending on what time they get it back Thursday is going to determine if I get it on Thursday. Which if I wasnt old and could unload it myself wouldnt be a big deal but my sons are taking off work Wednesday from there job and driving here from Ohio to unload this thing and help to get it all set up. All these plans were based upon the guaranty we were given.

And this truck in the shop thing sounds like another stahl tactic. Please help me get this resolved or I will sue for lost wages and inconvenience.

View full review

User's recommendation: Depends on how this all ends up.

Loyal C

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Las Vegas, Nevada

Bad business

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

This company needs a zero for their customer service and professionalism they don't deserve a 1 star and need to be put out of business and does not care anything for their customers this company is sending out Auction notice to customers that are not even 2 full months behind b/c they are greedy and money hungry and want to collect the money before the economy falls they are putting their loyal customers in a position to pay now are lose their item in storage at a time of the Coronavirus Pandemic when the usually don't send out these notice of auction until you are two full months behind they want money when people can't leave their home and not able to work instead of having a heart for your customers who is keeping your company in business give them a break I do understand that bills have to be paid but for this company to send these notices and scare their customers is wrong when usually they don't send these notice until 2 full months not a month not 15 days and not a month in a half. This company is sad, and I am not even a customer, but I am a family member of a customer who is old age and is in extreme panic about receiving this notice of auction when she and her husband never received a letter in the past, and they are on a fixed income, so they pay every other month but never received a letter of auction until now.most companies are sending out letters of concern and sending letters telling customer to be safe are we going to work with you every step of the way but 1800 PACK RAT are sending customers auction letters instead of encouraging letters to their customer.

This company do not care they want their money they are not concerned with what is going on in the economy right now and as I was doing my research on this company has nothing but bad reviews on every review website about their customer service. And for the customers who accounts are up to date on payments if something happens where you can't pay please make necessary arrangement now for your storage items b/c if you don't pay they are not giving you no more than 2 months to pay before your storage go into auction and you will have to pay the full past due payments before they will even consider taken your money. All of you be safe and thanks for reading. Get your belongings out of storage with this company 1800 Pack Rat if your items are value to you immediately, are they going to auction by all means they don't care if you are not working or don't have any income due to the Coronavirus Pandemic they want to get paid.

The representative she spoke with told her to pay months in advance, so she wan't have to worry about this bill if it comes to the point her income get cut off.

I was just listening and at that point, I had to take over the call this gentleman know he was trying to meet a quota and did not care if it could have been someone treating his parents or grandparents wrong and trying get all their fixed income money. This company is very bad for business.

View full review

Preferred solution: Apology

User's recommendation: Don't use there service

1 comment
Guest

Ditto!! Same thing

Tasha P Ioq

Do not use this company customer service is horrible and they rob you blind

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I used them for storage my account was set up on auto draft now all of the sudden I need my box delivered to my new address nothing changed for my account but now they claim they cant run my card... i called a week before the bill was due updated my account with new phone number and address and at no point did they call me to tell my they couldn't run my card i got no email or call/voicemail...

and of course pack rat wants to blame the customer and charge me another fee for redelivering... I will never in my life use them again

View full review
Loss:
$100
Cons:
  • Zero accountability
  • Issues caused increased cost to customer
  • Those in charge
Reason of review:
Poor customer service

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

About

Summary

1800 PACK RAT is a portable mini storage container business in which we bring the storage unit to you! ... 1800 PACK RAT offers units with ground level loading and tie down ...

1800 Pack Rat reviews and complaints

1800 Pack Rat is ranked 111 out of 634 in Moving and Storage category

Area Served

USA

Payment Methods

American ExpressDiscoverVISA

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article